icon pinmap

Park Güell


icon map
East Route Green

icon time
Not translated
icon interval
9 - 13 min
icon pois
3 points of interest
Location: Ctra. del Carmel 27, 08024, Barcelona

This park was constructed at the beginning of the 20th century, thanks to a commission by textiles entrepreneur and patron to Gaudi: Count Güell. This work is intimately linked to the life of the architect, since he lived in one of the houses – the showhome - that has now been converted into the Gaudi Museum House. Güell himself also lived there until his death in 1918. The design shows Gaudi´s inspiration and respect for nature: it is tailored to the natural environment,with sinuous forms and shapes that are combined with original architectural ideas. The proposed development did not take off, but helped the city to acquire it in 1923, to convert it into a public park. In 1969, it was officially declared a National Monument, and since 1984 it has been a World Heritagesite protected by UNESCO.